Arizona Genealogy and History

The Territorial Government of the Territory of Arizona was organized Feb. 24, 1863. The portion of the Territory lying north of the Gila river was obtained from the government of Mexico, under the treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo, Feb. 2d, 1848, and the portion lying south of the Gila was obtained by purchase from the government of Mexico, under the treaty made by James Gadsen on the part of the United States, at Mexico, Dec. 30, 1853; and extends west from the 109 deg. meridian of longitude to the 115th deg., and north from 31 deg. 20 sec. of north latitude to the 37th deg. parallel; and is bounded on the north by Nevada and Utah; on the east by New Mexico; on the south by Sonora, and on the west by California and Nevada, and contains about 70,000,000 acres of land.

The links on the right side will take you to specific Arizona genealogy records. The pages below are newest added to this website.

What’s New?

Arizona Census Records

Arizona Census Records
Starting in 1790, the United States government took a census every 10 years. Census records exist for the territory and state of Arizona from 1860-1930. Arizona territory was separated from the New Mexico territory in 1863.


Arizona History

On these pages you will find historical content enabling the genealogist to better comprehend their Arizona genealogy records.

Arizona Indian Tribes
These pages were taken from a manuscript written in 1871, entitled, Resources Of Arizona Territory With A Description Of The Indian Tribes.

Arizona County History

We’ve established some lead pages for our future county websites.

Arizona Directories

  • 1876-1878 Pacific Coast Business Directory
    The triennial business directory, containing the name of each merchant, manufacturer, and professional in the States of California, Oregon, Nevada, the Territories of Washington, Idaho, Montana, Utah, Arizona, and Alaska, and the Colony of British Columbia.

Surrounding States

Arizona is one of the Four Corners states. It has borders with New Mexico, Utah, Nevada, California, and Mexico, and one point in common with the southwestern corner of Colorado.